So close the big 5 oh

Struggling today. Struggling to remember why I’m doing this; struggling to write; can’t find the motivation to do much at all really.

A big milestone tomorrow. 50 days sober. Focussing on how massive an achievement that is and continuing to take each week at a time. Remembering a drink today will steal the success of getting to tomorrow. Remembering how alcohol has almost single handedly been involved in all the negative parts of my life. It has hurt my body, my mind, my family and my social circles. Alcohol is not my friend.

Distractions to get through the cravings today include:

  • Running. Running from the cravings and towards a healthy mind and body
  • Drinking….tea…water…alcohol free beer…anything that isn’t alcohol
  • Writing this blog. Giving myself another reason to keep going with this and getting over this dip in motivation
  • Staring out at the beautiful blue sky and remembering how big and spectacular the world is

Come on big 5 oh…50 days…let’s do this.

One response to “So close the big 5 oh”

  1. gr8ful_collette Avatar
    gr8ful_collette

    You’re doing so well! Distracting yourself in early days is sometimes we all have to learn but after awhile, you won’t need to! It gets so much easier when your brain realizes you don’t have to or want to go there anymore!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started